Six months in 17 for 2017

So six months in how is my list of 17 for 2017 doing. Definitely time to review.

17. Help seventeen people learn more about their environment.

Completed. I have been really lucky this year as I have been asked to run various workshops, both on pollinators and biodiversity. I really enjoyed working with our local country-life museum doing a biodiversity workshop with 30 school children a couple of weeks ago and will be doing a family biodiversity workshop for heritage week in August.

16. Send sixteen mammal records to the National Biodiversity Data Centre

Only five so far. A wood mouse, two pygmy shrew and two roadkill (badger and fox).

15. Give away fifteen homegrown flower or vegetable plants to worthy homes

Six to date to friends and family. This doesn’t include things grown and planted in school garden.

14. Fourteen fun days out with the family

Union wood, Enniscoe House,  Longford Demesne, Ross beach. And summer holidays have just begun so more planned.

13. Learn thirteen new words

Oxford dictionaries.com is a great website I have been looking at. I have learned the world muumuu. Which I think is great addition to my scrabble vocabulary.  It’s a type of dress in case you were wondering.

I also like “mouse potato”  which is someone who spends a lot of time on the computer for leisure or work.

And “nagware” which is computer software which is free for a time but then constantly reminds you to buy!

12. Write twelve blog posts (ideally one a month) on an environmental topic

Need more work here.  Short post on International Biodiversity Day, and one on Earth Day with some practical ideas, a couple of bee ones including plants for bees, and one on Climate change,

11. Read eleven new authors

A boy made of  blocks by Keith Stuart: A story about a dad learning how to love and see his autistic child just as a boy and not as a child with autism.

The trouble with goats and sheep by Joanne Cannon: A who done it with a difference, sometimes viewed through the eyes of a twelve year old.

10. Complete ten butterfly and or bee monitoring transects this year

Only four so far. Hopefully will get more done in the summer

9. Find 9 ways of encouraging more wildlife into our garden

Am creating two new wildflower area. Work in progress

8. Discover 8 new things

Chi seeds, beneficial health benefits and good for baking

Plantain (the plant) has amazing properties. Need to do more research

7. Send seven letters to friends

Only one yet

6. Try six new recipes

Oh dear, failing again. Must try harder! Though did try frying fresh kale leafs with some lamb cutlets which proved popular with everyone in the house.

5. Have five swims

Only paddles yet!

4. Find four positive ways of helping those in need

I visited a school to give them some advice on making their school grounds more environmentally friendly

3. Plant three new vegetables or fruit that I did not grown in the garden last year

So far I have only stuck with the old reliables!

2. Record two new species for the garden

Done. Humming bird hawk moth and a carabid beetle who’s name I can’t just recall.

1. Attend one cultural event

Nothing yet!

Ribworth plantain

Ribworth plantain

16 thoughts on “Six months in 17 for 2017

  1. Wild Daffodil

    I am impressed – you are getting on well. I need to find out more about Plantain too – loads in my garden as I love it – I still make guns with it – do you?! I am definitely a Mouse Potato! well some days anyway. I learnt two words from Kate recently – in this post: https://talltalesfromchiconia.wordpress.com/2017/06/24/and-the-next-one-gallimaufry/
    Gallimaufry and Salmagundi
    I thought the first one sounded Irish but discovered it was French in origin.

    Loved reading your update – well done!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Frogend_dweller

    An interesting list: Perfectly achievable, but currently reflecting your real passions?? I know very little about plantain, so I had better check out its properties too, especially since I grow so much inadvertently. Mouse potato is a wonderful term!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. dust4y

    An honest appraisal of a vibrant list. My list never got off the ground for various reasons but I think I could aim for a 6-month one. Plantains – would they be the ones we used to eat in Colombia – fried with a little butter? They were certainly delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      No the ones I am talking about are not probably growing in your lawn. see photo at end of post.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Books I’ve Read 2017 | Murtagh's Meadow

  5. Pingback: Final – 17 for 2017 | Murtagh's Meadow

Comments welcome