Murtagh’s Meadow First Birthday

Today Murtagh’s Meadow celebrates it’s first birthday. I would like to take the opportunity to thank all of you for reading the blog. When I started blogging I didn’t really know what I was doing, and I have learned a lot in the last year. One of the best things about blogging though is making new blogging friends and reading about your journeys and experiences. So a huge thank you to you all.

In that first blog, I wrote about our two ducks. So in honor of today I thought I’d return to them. They get to spend the winter in the vegetable plot. While they may consume a good few worms they also do the service of ridding the garden of many of its slugs and snails. I find at the beginning of the growing season I have no problem growing tender leaved vegetables such as lettuce, but by mid-summer, particularity if it’s been a wet year, I have to abandon the idea. The ducks (Nelson and Jemima) are both getting on in years. So we’ve borrowed an incubator in the hope of hatching some eggs. In the next couple of weeks, the ducks will return to live in the field with the chickens from where they will also have access to their pond – so they’ll be delighted as they are currently using an old baby bath for bathing!

 

 

20 thoughts on “Murtagh’s Meadow First Birthday

    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      No, they are not the picking up sort of duck – but the ‘have a chat with’ sort of duck while you’re weeding the garden!

      Like

      Reply
  1. Melissa Shaw-Smith

    Congratulations. I’ve really enjoyed sharing your photos and tales of your life in the west of Ireland. Keep up the good work! Maybe we could meet up for a hike with the kids around Lough Cara when I’m over at Easter. Cheers! Melissa

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      They don’t actually do much trampling – but then outside all I have is brassicas and beat. The smaller green stuff I grow in polytunnel. And we’ll be moving ducks out before I plant anything new.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Thanks Cynthia. Yes the drake is a mallard and the duck is a bit of a mix but mostly khaki campbell I think. They are tame in that they don’t run away from you, but wouldn’t been keen on being picked up!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Denise

        Congratulations! Thanks for imparting all that insight and sharing those wonderful photos.Here’s to another productive year in Murtagh’s Meadow!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments welcome

