Six on Saturday

In Ireland, some people optimistically consider the 1st of February the start of spring. It is also Saint Brigit’s day. The garden does certainly show signs of spring – so let’s be optimistic.

1. Hellebore

I have two – one white which is already fully open and this lovely red version which is nearly there.

Hellebore

Hellebore

2. Yellow crocus these are planting in grass under a birch tree and are usually the first crocus to appear each year.

Crocus

Crocus

3. Similarly these miniature daffodils are usually the first to appear. I have a couple of larger one that are also just opening too.

Daffodil - tete a tete

Daffodil – tete a tete

4. Snowdrops have been up for a couple of weeks – this pot was given to me by a friend a couple of years ago. (Sorry not best photo – always find them hard to photograph).

Snowdrops

Snowdrops

5.  I am happy to report that the Japanese onions I set in the polytunnel a few weeks ago (late) are doing quite nicely.

Onions

Onions

6. And the replacement for the Victoria plum I lost last autumn is in, finders crossed it will be bountiful in years to come.

Plum tree

Plum tree

We also managed to clean the very dirty windows of the greenhouse and tomorrow I may even plant some seeds!

Many thanks to The Propagator for hosting six on Saturday

15 thoughts on “Six on Saturday

  1. afrenchgarden

    Your post really cheered me up. I have been down with ‘flu for two weeks and this is the first day I think I might live ;). I was glad to hear about St. Bridgid and the optimistic date of 1 February being the first day of spring. Lovely photographs. Amelia

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Sorry to hear you have been ill. It has been a bad year for flu this year. Here’s to a speedy recovery and lots of spring flowers to cheer you:)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      I think they may be happier in the ground – these have less flowers than last year. so once they have flowered I may pop them in a bed somewhere.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Lora Hughes

    Everything looks great but that hellebore looks like something sweet & delicious! The foliage on your snowdrops is beautiful. Hope the plum takes off running.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Beginning of February | a french garden

Comments welcome