Relax?

With Christmas just around the corner, relaxing is still not something I am ready to do. There are a couple of gifts to find yet, presents to be wrapped, cards to be written, not to mention the food shop and cooking. But the tree is up and the children have made a great job decorating it. And I know it will all come together on the day (at least I hope it will!).

dsc_1072-001

There will be plenty time to relax during the holidays – and that is one of the things I look forward too. No school runs and the chance for a little lie in (except maybe Christmas morning when no doubt we will be woken before dawn!).

The other thing I love about Christmas is getting cards and letters – and in particular the letters with all the news from friends and relatives far and wide. It makes me wonder why we don’t write more letters? They are so nice to receive. And I think I will have on my list of ’17 for 2017′ writing more letters – not emails but proper letters, that go in an envelope and get a stamp and you pop in the post box! And don’t get me wrong I love emails too. I have three friends in the UK who I communicate regularly with using email. We email about everything and anything, from family crisis to the woes of defrosting the fridge and I love finding their emails in my inbox too.

I encourage you all to write at least one letter this Christmas season and share the joy of receiving letters.

I hope to post before the weekend so in the meantime I hope you find a little time to relax before the festivities begin in earnest.

Prompted by today’s Daily Prompt: Relax

15 thoughts on “Relax?

  1. Miranda McCoy

    Well said that woman! A letter is a delight to receive. The recipient knows that care, time and a little effort has been made especially for them. Nice! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Melissa Gillan

    I share your joy in sending and receiving letters. It was on my 16 for 2016 list and though I have not updated it EVER, I have written several this year. That said, I owe letters, ugh! I hope you find lots and lots of time to relax and pen a lovely message or two during the holiday break. Take care, Melissa Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Jane

    Quite right about the letters – how smashing to receive them. There’s a bit of the writer right there in front of us with the old, familiar handwriting and lovely, tangible paper. I need to write as well for the grandchildren to see what technology misses!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Oh I am in the same boat with the handwriting! Home made cards even better, we try to do the same and I encourage the children to make theirs too.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Eliza Waters

    It is a busy time, to be sure. It is sad that fewer folk send Christmas cards and fewer yet write letters. I have a couple decades-long friends that I write to only annually, but at least we do that to stay in touch across the miles.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Comments welcome

