Perplexed

Today’s daily post got me thinking, or maybe perplexing would be a more accurate a description. Here we on living on a planet, blessed with fresh air, clean water, the most amazing biodiversity you could imagine. And yet we continue to pollute and destroy.

If you could just do one thing for this amazing place we call home, then think about one of these options:

  1. Compost all your green waste
  2. Plant some flowers. No garden – then plant some in a pot or window box
  3. Stop using chemicals in your garden (herbicides, pesticides) and in your home (vinegar, lemon juice and baking soda are great for cleaning)
  4. Plant a tree
  5. Build a bird box
  6. Give your old clothes to a charity shop
  7. Feed the birds and enjoy watching them visit your feeder
  8. Grow some vegetables
  9. Volunteer to help with a community clean up
  10. Smile

If you are already doing them, then give yourself a clap on the back!

via Daily Prompt: Perplexed

32 thoughts on “Perplexed

  1. Jane

    Doing most but still some to achieve, including growing more vegetables consistently. Can’t understand the disparity between what politicians don’t do and what they must see as humans on this earth.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. cherielanglois

    I, too, am perplexed by this. Here on our little farm, we’re trying to do what we can–including many of the things you listed. A big thing for me has been trying to cut down on food waste. I’ve been canning and drying our garden harvest like crazy! Thank you for the lovely pics and post.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  3. Robbie

    Oh, How I wish you were my neighbor or I lived where you live….( Long sigh), the chemical lawn care truch was parked across the street. It upsets me to no end when people spay that “crap” on their lawns. I shut my windows and thought, all the work to attract pollinators and grow food and all it takes is one neighbor to spray….I agree, why don’t we take batter care of it! great photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Poor you – that must be so frustrating. I know I am lucky to be surrounded by countryside. The thing to remember though is that you are doing good, and you are setting a wonderful example to all those around you. It’s just a shame they are blind to it all.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. aj vosse

    How about if I asked you if you’d like to compost almost all of your food waste??

    Hester Ley Nel, a South African blogger, (look for her avatar, you’ll enjoy her sense of humour) introduced me to a very interesting concept and site! I can’t wait to move so I can start afresh in a different environment and get this going!

    http://earthprobiotic.co.za/

    Yes… I want to do more… and I plan to keep researching the “Permaculture” advantages and maybe, just maybe we can soon have a bit of ground where we can practice what we preach!! πŸ˜‰

    Just as I began writing this comment a Small Tortoiseshell flitted past my left ear. We have two who take shelter in the lounge… I wonder if they’re foretelling of a harsh winter? πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Interesting:) Food waste is huge issue. We have chickens and they are great recyclers though we try and have as little food waste as possible. Anything that can help is a plus. As for those tortoiseshells it does sound like they are looking for good hibernation place!!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Comments welcome

