16 for 2016

16 for 2016 – some of my favourite bloggers (Wild daffodil and the Aran Artisan) and have been completing a 2016 list of 16. I love the idea which originally came from Cathy at nanacathydotcom.  So better late than never and starting in reverse order:


16:  Plant sixteen different vegetables in the garden (not necessarily types, so for example, could have three varieties of lettuce)

15: Read fifteen books in the year

14: Send fourteen wildlife records to the National Biodiversity Data Centre

13: Find thirteen interesting items (these could be anything from something picked up beach-combing, to finding something in a charity shop – ideally it should not be something new or that I have paid full price for!)

12: Give away twelve plants to worthy homes

11: Have eleven fun days out with the kids

10: Complete ten butterfly and or bee transects this year

9: Try nine new recipes. I sometimes find that I get into a cooking rut where you cook the same things week in and week out. I’ve got myself into one of those and need to start experimenting with some new ideas

8: Go on eight cycle rides

7: In addition to number 2 below have seven Mayo days out to some of my favourite Mayo places.

6: Try to do six random acts of kindness to complete strangers (I have stolen and adapted this idea from Cathy, the original blogger of this great idea.

5: With the help of my family make, and put up five bird, bat and /or insect boxes

4: Make four home-made presents for family and/or friends

3: Have three swims, ideally in the Atlantic

2: Find two new places in Mayo to explore

1: Record one new species for the garden

0: Zero days complaining about the weather especially the rain – because there is nothing we can do about it, so will learn to have to adapt!

44 thoughts on “16 for 2016

  1. Jane

    Well – what challenges you have created here. My dilemma would be in that producing my list I didn’t subconsciously veer towards softer options. You’ve got me thinking..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      I know I feel that too Jane – for example 15 books should be very doable as I am a reader and I did wonder if I should have been more specific there. Also I need to “monitor” myself to see how I get on with some of these!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Great that you started cooking at a young age – I try to encourage my kids to do same – they enjoy baking:)

      Like

      Reply
      1. lucas897

        Also a lot of meat, poultry, no fish though. I would like to learn to shoot and hunt so we can try Deer, Rabbit, small animals (No dogs or cats). Though who would want to give a 12 year old a rifle, snares, etc. in an apartment complex with less than 7 acres of wooded land.

        Like

  2. Wild Daffodil

    That is such a great list. I think there are 4 of us doing 16 for 2016 now, fun to do it together.
    I had to look up ‘bee transect’ to find out what it meant. I will so look forward to seeing how all your wildlife items take shape over the year. It might be something I could do with my granddaughter. Very inspiring.
    A 13 interesting objects – brilliant! Can’t wait to see what you find.
    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Thank you for being part of the inspiration for the post! I should have put a link to bee transects – may edit that. Yes couldn’t think of a “13” for ages then that one came from nowhere!

      Like

      Reply
  3. aranislandgirl

    Your list is full of wonderful ideas, most are very thoughtful and benefiting others. I’m with the others and find 13 interesting and look forward to seeing what you discover for this. I had to google transect…is it for curiosity sake or scientific reasons? I hope you share all with us and look forward to seeing what you create for 4.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Thank you Melissa. Most put link in to transect bit – yes it’s what they call “citizen science” and it is done for scientific reasons as it’s great way of monitoring bee populations.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      No just random ideas – if you check out the other bloggers (linked on the post) who have done it, you will see some common themes – but basically set yourself 16 goals for 2016 using the numbers 1-16 as your starting points. It’s quite a nice exercise to focus your mind for the year:)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Find one of thirteen. | Murtagh's Meadow

  5. dermhurl

    Hello, I just discovered your blog. I’m a Connachtman in self-imposed exile in Spain, so I’m happy to be reading about the Irish countryside, one of my most-missed aspects of home.
    Anyway, I wanted to comment regarding your #2 – I was wondering if you were aware of the ‘Magic Road’ near Tourmakeady? I couldn’t tell you at all where it is or how to get there, only that you turn down towards Lough Mask between Partry and Castlebar, there is a lovely small tea-house down that boreen, and absolutely no locals would talk to us outsiders (from Sligo and Galway) about the existence of the Magic Road. My friends from Tuam were the first to find it, and since then, a number of us have visited, in various sizes and shapes of cars, and invariably the result is the same. handbrake off, feet off the pedals, and the car zooms up the hill!
    This phenomenon is apparently widespread but people don’t like to publicise it. I’m not surprised. The unpredictable wonder of the event itself is only part of what made it such an amazing day out. The tea shop, the colours of the fields, and the views over Lough Mask meant that we could enjoy the Mayo scenery calmly, and turning this into a tourist attraction would be an awful shame.

    I wish you well with your 2016 list, and look forward to more interesting posts in future!
    Regards,
    Dermot Hurley

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Hi Dermot, nice to bump into you in cyber space! I’m sure Spain is warmer and drier than connacht! I have heard about that road, in fact we’ve even driven it; next time I must remember to give it a try. There is another similar road somewhere in Scotland that has similar optical illusion!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Progress on 16 for 2016 | Murtagh's Meadow

  7. Pingback: Walking in Mayo | Murtagh's Meadow

  8. Pingback: By-the-wind Sailors | Murtagh's Meadow

  9. Pingback: 16 for 2016 Review | Murtagh's Meadow

  10. Pingback: 16 for 2016 Final review | Murtagh's Meadow

  11. Pingback: 17 for 2017 | Murtagh's Meadow

Comments welcome