Happy Winter Solstice

Today is the Winter Solstice and I find myself breathing a sigh of relief. At least from now the days will be getting longer and not shorter. And what is more we have had the sun out for most of the day and I got a lovely walk. This in one of my favourite trees in the neighbourhood – an old ash tree, gnarled and worn with a great cavity. A true elder of our community, who has seen many winter solstices.

Wishing you all a very Happy Winter Solstice

Old ash

Old ash

20 thoughts on “Happy Winter Solstice

      1. heretherebespiders

        I didn’t get much of the sun! I’ll sit outside at work for lunch when I can, but today I forgot it was nice and sat in my semi-outside place (fresh air, but out of the rain). It’s for the best, my coworkers already think I’m nutty for being outside as much as possible! I think they are nutty for not wanting to be outside πŸ™‚
        I might have a wee glass after dinner. I had one late last night and still tasted it this morning! Not sure if that’s a good thing…

        Like

  1. Melissa Shaw-Smith

    I always think that this day is the true marker of the beginning of the new year. May this year be filled with light, more than occasional sunshine, and peace for you and your family! All the best, Melissa

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Jane

    And happy solstice to you here from 23rd. Beautiful picture – how you captured that magnificent tree framed so delicately by the sun behind. Perhaps 2016 will bring your pictures as well as your stories more into the public domain?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Lori Fontanes

    It feels so unsettling–the normal short days combined with the strange warm weather! I think I even heard a bird singing it’s spring song early this morning. I just hope they don’t try nesting and have it suddenly turn cold. *shiver* *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Comments welcome

