November light

At this time of year, with the sun low in the sky I find you get a different kind of light. In the conifer plantation just down the lane from us, the sun penetrates through the lower branches, highlighting the rich, green moss. The moss and ferns only grow where they get enough light – like here where some trees fell over in last year’s storms.

The drains are full after all the rain and they reflect the low light too, as do the fallen bronze larch needles. I love the way they create patterns in the water.

Around the edges of the wood where birch and larch predominate, there is always more light, but the late afternoon sun gives an almost warming glow.

24 thoughts on “November light

    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Mother nature never ceases to amaze me Juie – I wasn’t going to take my camera as it was so dark – but then the sun came through the clouds and I was glad to have it! K

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. aranislandgirl

    Reminds me of my favourite colours in my wardrobe, autumn colours. Rust, green, gold, brown. All rich and deep, beautiful and natural. Even a hint of blue (denim) in the first pic. It looks like a beautiful place to sit and listen…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. aranislandgirl

        Probably too much, though I try not to hoard clothes. I’m wearing a J. Crew grey wool sweater right now, one of their classic pieces, which I have had over twenty years. I tried to replace it a few years back but it was not to be. So instead of trashing it, I put suede elbow pads on it. Looks better than ever. Ah well, silly topic I brought up I suppose, but it is my fave clothes time of year and your gorgeous photos brought this to mind. Thanks for bearing with my rambling on about it. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jane

    Some artists go to Cornwall for the light you just need to step outside your door and with a photographer’s eye you capture what the passer-by might miss. Who would have thought that low light could throw out these November colours – what a treat.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      It is pretty amazing that from hour to hour, or even minute to minute light can completely change and therefore how you view things changes too.

      Like

      Reply

Comments welcome

