Why grow Organically?

Firstly Happy Earth Day. Through my job I get to meet kids and was delighted yesterday to have some sing me the Earth Day song, all about us looking after the earth. It warmed my heart.

For me one of the best ways of showing our appreciation of mother nature is to garden organically. For those of us that grow our food organically the last month has yet again proven us to be on the right track. A report issued by the World Health Organisation has linked Glyphosate, the main ingredient of the herbicide Roundup, as a possible carcinogen. Monsanto are trying to get the report retracted. According to Wikipedia ‘Monsanto Company is a publicly traded American multinational agrochemical and agricultural biotechnology corporation’. According to Monsanto’s own website ‘Monsanto is a sustainable agriculture company’. That made me laugh, because in my opinion chemicals and GMO crops are as far from ‘sustainable’ as it could be! Glyphosate earns the company about $6 billion per year to the company.

Pear blossom

Pear blossom

In the 1990’s, Monsanto genetically engineered crops to withstand being sprayed with Roundup. These crops (e.g Soybean and corn) known as “Roundup Ready” became popular with farmers but more recently the weeds have been developing a resistance to the herbicide and so farmers are having to spray more and more. Monsanto are probably rubbing their hands together in glee as it’s more money for their shareholders.

For me there is no such thing as a ‘weed’. Only a plant in the wrong place. I may dig dandelions out of my vegetable plot but they grow in profusion in our lawn and orchard areas,  where they feed bees, hoverflies and butterflies who in turn pollinate our fruit trees and vegetables.

Dandelion

Dandelion

I grow food to feed my family. I would never put chemicals on them, it just doesn’t make sense to me. In fact, I wouldn’t put chemicals anywhere in my garden. We need to live in harmony with nature, learn to work with it and not against it.

Tomato

Tomato

Celeriac

Celeriac

 

Avaaz.org are running a petition (https://secure.avaaz.org/en/monsanto_dont_silence_science_loc_eu/?twvkneb) asking the relevant authorities to take into consideration the studies from the International Agency for Research on Cancer’s report in their current safety assessments, and to ensure all reviews are transparent, based on independent studies, and evaluated by independent researchers without conflicts of interest.

 

 

27 thoughts on “Why grow Organically?

  1. Robbie

    Great Post!!! I as thinking about chemicals the other day as I weeded ( dandelions) from my frontyard by hand. I thought people use to eat these, I would but they spray in all the front yards here where I live. My great(s) grandparents use to eat this flower when they first came to America many years ago. How did it become a weed? I watch the chemical trucks pull up to my neighbors houses and their lawns green up much sooner ( than mine) and almost a “Fake” green in the spring. Mine greens up a bit slower with nature.I am one of the only front yards on my block- to not use chemicals. I have taken out more than half of my green carpet, but have left a strip or two. I thought “when did people become so lazy that they can’t go out and take 30 minutes to weed their yard.” instead they spray it with chemicals + pay people to come and do it:-(
    You are so right we need to learn to live with nature:-)
    Perfect spring post to remind us all! I hate those round-up spray bottles my neighbors are holding as they chat over the fence. All I can do is make my square a “safe haven” for nature in my yard:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      I knew you’d like this post Robbie – and thanks for reblogging! I can see your garden – an oasis of colour and biodiversity surrounded by sterile, chemical enhanced ‘super green’ lawns. At least I have the advantage of living in the countryside where use of chemical sprays is thankfully minimal:)

      Like

      Reply
    2. Lori Fontanes

      BTW, Robbie, you don’t have to pull up dandelions by hand (a very difficult job–those taproots!) I use a Grandpa’s Weeder and there are probably other designs out there. No bending necessary. 🙂 Meanwhile, I’m *growing* organic Italian dandelions in my greens planter. Like you say, Karina, a weed is not intrinsically a weed, it’s all in where it’s at! Thx for sharing this post!!!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  2. Robbie

    Reblogged this on Palm Rae Urban Potager and commented:
    Please sign this petition Karina from Murtagh’s Meadow put on her wonderful post today! We need to stop these chemicals for they are hurting us and nature…please sign the petition! Visit her site and you will see a great organic garden that is sustainable and if we all join forces all over th world it is possible to make a difference….together!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Robbie

    I reblogged your post on my site! I signed the petition. Great job-Karina:-) To the point and well done:-) Thank you for reminding us all!!!! exclamations are me jumping up and down-YIPEE!! For a job that needed to be done this spring with all our cleaning-a reminder to be chemical free + learn to grow organically:-)

    Like

    Reply
  4. Eliza Waters

    I honestly wonder how Monsanto execs sleep at night. This has got to be one of the worst companies on the planet. And you’re right, their PR is laughable. Ignoring science in pursuit of profit is downright evil and they throw millions to defeat any cause they deem not in their best interest. The litany is long, I could go on & on.
    Chemical-free is a choice we all can make. I love seeing multi-specie lawns, your dog & kids can play on it without worry. The brainwashed public thinks the ideal is pristine lawns and unblemished fruit. We gotta change that costly mindset!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. aranislandgirl

    I so often wonder if Monsanto execs have children of their own. How can they sleep at night? It is beyond comprehension. Petition signed…thanks for bringing it to attention. Wonderful post about doing right for all the right reasons!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Comments welcome

