Is Spring Coming?

As we enter the final week of January, it does seem that spring is on the way. In the polytunnel some self-seeded rocket has already germinated. I cleared away the weeds, in the hope it will continue to grow. Rocket is one my my favorite salad crops. Meanwhile the broad-bean seeds that my daughter and I had planted in pots a week or so ago had disappeared (well, all but one). I suspect a mouse is to blame. So we replanted and this time popped a piece of glass over the top of the pots!

Then yesterday, out for a walk at Turlough near the Country Life Museum we spotted some daffodils in flower!

Daffodil

Daffodil

Our own daffodil leaves are only just appearing above the grass, so the above is definitely early. A lady out walking her dog pointed out a lovely bunch of snowdrops – she called them ‘Bridget Flowers’, which she said was a local name for them. I haven’t heard them called this before but Saint Bridget’s day is the first of February, so can see the connection.

In the garden, we cut back the autumn raspberry canes. I watched two robins busy searching for tasty titbits, among the fallen raspberries leaves. It seems that they have paired up and started their courtship already. According the the RSPB website this is not usual for Robins in a mild winter, though breeding will not start till March (http://www.rspb.org.uk/discoverandenjoynature/discoverandlearn/birdguide/name/r/robin/nesting.aspx).

Robin

Robin

So is Spring on its way?

15 thoughts on “Is Spring Coming?

    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      We’ve had a mild winter here with the odd cold snap – another one due later this week. So won’t be putting away hats and gloves for a while yet!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Robbie

    πŸ™‚ not here this morning-I woke up to 18 degrees:-( I was feeling spring last week when it touched the 40’s and I was able to bike the river:-) My seedlings for spring are all growing + I have a perennial arugula I am putting out this year. I am eager to eat some spring salads.
    Your Robin is so different than our spring Robin. I love seeing the birds from other countries. When you see a Robin in our garden it means spring is around the corner-No Robins here 😦 but it is getting warmer slowly…usually it goes back and forth until March:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Miranda McCoy

    Hurrah for randy robins! I have snowdrops poking through in the garden and they always cheer me up as I realise winter has turned a corner. Lovely pic too xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. aranislandgirl

    I feel spring in the air. Am noticing the longer days and even saw a few daffodils peaking their heads out as well. Rocket is just divine; our outdoor rocket is still well asleep though. Will have to take a tip from you and transplant some in the tunnel or next year.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Yes, and once they have finished breeding they’ll split up again – independent little things that they are.

      Like

      Reply
  4. gaiainaction

    How lovely the Robins! We have two in the garden, they are so tame and just love it when one of us is working in the garden. Lovely photos and writing, much enjoyed. And happy St.Brigid’s day – it was a glorious day here! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Comments welcome

