Crab apples and fairy rings

I have been trying to get a good photograph of these lovely crab apples for a couple of weeks now, but there are defeating me. This seems to be the best I can do.

Crab apple

Crab apple

It’s been wet and very dull here which isn’t great photography weather.

Crab apple

Crab apple

But it does seem to suit the fungi which are popping up in amongst the trees in the conifer plantation. Many are appearing in circular groups which are known locally as fairy rings. Or at least I thought it was a local name, but a quick ‘google’ has shown me that this is actually a general term of a species called – Marasmius oreades.

Fungi

Fungi

13 thoughts on “Crab apples and fairy rings

  1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

    If only I had the patience for crab apple jelly Marija – perhaps when the kids are a bit bigger and I have more time!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      This one is only in it’s fifth year and as far as I remember it has fruited every year. Last year there was lots of fruit, but then last year was a better year all around for our apple trees. It is always covered in blossom too. Hopefully yours will fruit next year – I think you are quite a bit higher than us!

      Like

      Reply
  2. gaiainaction

    Yes, lovely photos, and now I know what the little tree is in next door’s garden, it must be a Crab Apple tree as the fruit is exactly the same, looks lovely. Do you think that there are still a lot of wild Crab Apples in Ireland?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Yes there are definitely still wild crab apples here in Ireland. I know a number in hedgerows locally. The best time to spot them is in the spring when the blossoms are out.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

    You are too kind Miranda. ‘Fairy rings’ seems like such an Irish expression that I never thought it was a more generally accepted term. So I learned something new today too!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Jane Miller

    I wonder if there’s anything else you can do with crab apples that isn’t as time consuming as the jelly. Excellent photos, as ever. Have you though of sending in an article/regular article to a relevant magazine – the diary approach, you know. We also have mushrooms with the damp – makes me think of the old song: There are fairies at the bottom of the garden….

    Love Jane xx

    Like

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      I don’t know that song Jane – must look it up. I am sure there is other things I could do with crab apples but will leave them now for birds to enjoy!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Robbie

    I love the photos! I have the same problem with trying to get my lemon squash-lol. There are just some “objects/plants/things” that frustrate me when I try to capture their beauty. I take tons of pictures but never seem to get a good one! I feel you did a great job:-) We had a crab apple tree right outside our house when I was growing up and my mother use to make jelly….I wish I had one in my yard now-you caught the apples at their best in color-they look like mini apples-which they are!
    How did I miss this post???? You wrote this 6 days ago-I guess, when I post , I disapper but I have been busy getting ready for Thanksgiving:-) We had 60 degree weather last weekend, so we cleaned the garden out + then the next day it dropped to the teens!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Comments welcome

