Winter greens

Up to now we’ve had a pretty mild autumn so I think this is why things have done really well in the polytunnel. Growing greens outside, once autumn arrives, I find impossible in our damp climate as the slugs and snails soon demolish tender green leaves. But the polytunnel is great. The drier mirco-climate and small space which can be easily monitored, means few if any slugs. So things thrive. I may have made the mistake of letting last years winter purslane go to seed because it is now all over the polytunnel. Not that that is a problem really. It looks great and is very hardy.

Winter purslane

Winter purslane

Together with rocket, lambs lettuce and mizuna, it makes a great lunch salad. There are some winter density semi-cos lettuce maturing in both the poly and greenhouse and it will be interesting to see how they progress.

Winter Density Lettuce

Winter Density Lettuce

Yesterday, I harvested another meals-worth of mange tout peas. Though they are admittedly getting to the end, now that light levels and temperatures have dropped. Still who is going to complain about having fresh peas in November!

Mange tout in November

Mange tout in November

In the greenhouse, there are still tomatoes going red too and some green ones that I really should find time to make chutney with.

Tomato

Tomato

And finally some Nasturtium flowers to warm the heart.

Nasturtium

Nasturtium

14 thoughts on “Winter greens

  1. Marija

    What a lovely way to brighten such a dull and cold time of year than with wonderful fresh green veg…I’m hugely envious of your healthy salads in November.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Thanks Marija. To be honest it is the first year I have done it well, but I am learning. The winter purslane was a great ‘find’ last year and is definitely something I will grow annually now. Having the greenhouse this year has also meant I have had extra space, another big plus!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Robbie

    Wow!!!You have tomatoes! Mine are a mess right now. I left one black cherry up but it has bit the dust. Does the purslane do well in the cold? I grew the golden one but I am thinking this “winter” one may be better for cool weather, right?
    I don’t have a tunnel but I have coverings over the chard. The kale is coming to life in this cold weather. I should of planted more! Last year, I planted too much. One of these years, Ill get it right. I planted too much mustard-lol. Your garden looks beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Robbie, you are too kind. I just love your garden! Yes this winter purslane likes it cool. It only started germinating in the polytunnel in maybe late September and the seeds had been there (from the previous years crop that seeded) all summer and didn’t budge before then. Yep, I have too many tomatoes this year and am giving them away to friends and family. That’s the good thing about having too many I suppose:)

      Like

      Reply
      1. Robbie

        so if I put this in my garden it will emerge int he fall/winer? that would be perfect. I know there is winter purslane but I have never grown it. I would like to try it next year. I just came inside from harvesting salad greens for dinner. I had to stop and go inside my fingers were frozen! I still need to go back out and harvest some mustard and radishes….brrr….

        Like

    2. Jane Miller

      Can’t believe the range of winter greens that you produce. Just need the confidence to get a polytunnel and try to grow those things I’ve never even eaten!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

    I tried to grow it outside last year but the slugs demolished it! But I expect you have fewer slugs and snails than I do. Enjoy your salad – doesn’t it feel great to be eating what you grew yourself:)

    Like

    Reply
  4. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

    Your welcome Eliza. As I said it’s taken me a couple of years to find what really works but it’s definitely worth it.

    Like

    Reply

Comments welcome

