Some great winter veg

It’s been a wet week with plenty rain and little time to get outside with the camera as report writing is keeping me indoors. So I thought I’d reflect a little on the growing year. There is no doubt it has been the best one for years. Despite late frosts in the spring it has been a long growing season and this has helped a number of winter vegetables including the celeriac.

Celeriac

Celeriac

Some years this may only get to golf ball size for me but this year they are the size of a good fist, plenty to add to a soup or stew.

Leeks too have done well. I learned this year to give them an extra feed too, which has probably helped.

Leek

Leek

I love this curly kale. Not only does it look great, it tastes good too. Despite a few caterpillar attacks and late sowing it is now doing really well and looking healthy.

Curly kale

Curly kale

 

 

13 thoughts on “Some great winter veg

  1. Jane Miller

    Well, I hope this gets through to you, as the others didn’t. What wonderful vegetables and superb photos. Can’t eat leeks but celeriac and kale are smashing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Robbie

    My your garden grows:-) Pretty, too:-)I love Kale, I could not live with out it-lol. Is that blue Scotch?
    I need to try leeks again,I had some soup made by a friend last year + it was YUM!
    Also a beautiful vegetable. Do they do well in the winter?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      I’m not 100% what variety the Kale was – it could be one called Westland Autumn, which I know I have for planting next year. My husband and I love leeks – well my husband is Welsh and it is one of Wale’s national emblems so it would be shame if he didn’t like them! I grew a couple of varieties this year – and the ‘swiss giant’ has got good and big. Some years they don’t get very big but I have learned this year that they are pretty greedy and need some extra feeding. I just gave them so liquid comfrey mix and ‘fish and bone’ meal and of course plenty compost from the compost bins at the start. They can be put in stews, soups, stir-fried or just steamed! Great veg!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Thanks Robbie. The banner is on a randomised setting – there are about 6 photos in total. Some of the photos are a couple of years old now but I will aim to update over the winter / spring. This time of year is always great for veg – there is the root veg, parsnips, beetroot and all the brassicas red and white cabbage, sprouts and kale. The only problem is harvesting them in the rain – which is what I have to go and do now:)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. gaiainaction

    Great write up and photos. I too love Leeks and grew them one winter but they did not thrive and I used them just before they got stringy the next spring, well, next time better. The soil in my raised beds is a type of clay (topsoil from a farm) I am improving it every year. One thing – it grows lovely delicious Dandelion leaves!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Murtagh's Meadow Post author

      Thank you. We have lots of dandelions too – and I should harvest them more! Leeks definitively worth trying again. I start mine off inside, then put in bed with plenty compost or well rotted manure. This is first year I have feed them during growing season too and that has I think made a difference.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Comments welcome

