Sowing vegetables in the polytunnel

It is already the 23rd March and the weather here in Ireland remains cool and wet. I have therefore decided to concentrate my efforts in the polytunnel for now. So today, I planted some carrot seed and some more radishes (the first sowing of these have already germinated). I had mangetout peas in root trainers so I decided to get these into the ground too and to start of another batch of seeds which will hopefully be ready to go out when the weather warms up a bit. The broad beans, which are also in root trainers, should be ready to plant out into the tunnel next week. I have a few broccoli plants which I had planted in the autumn and overwintered inside. It’s the first time I’ve tried this and I had been meaning to plant out but because of the cool temperatures I have planted them under cover instead.

Comments welcome

